Back To The Basics


It was a normal day. Several years ago.

I was doing my normal daily tasks. But something was amiss.

I was irritated with everything and everybody.

No, I wasn’t hungry. I wasn’t suffering from heartbreak. I hadn’t fought with anybody. I didn’t have a big decision staring me in the face. I wasn’t physically hurt. I wasn’t uncomfortable in any sense. But something was off. There was something empty inside me and I wasn’t able to pinpoint what it was.

There was a strong urge to shout and cry and punch somebody and run and just fall asleep all at the same time.

I came back home and sat on my bed, my throbbing head in my hands, and closed my eyes.

And then something happened – a song started playing somewhere in the vicinity. And, hallelujah, I finally figured out what it was. It was music!

I hadn’t listened to any music since 3-4 days. (Duh for some, I know!)

I feed on music. It is like a basic need. Equivalent to food, water, Facebook ;). I tend to get all cranky when I haven’t had any music since some time. I starve for new music, get all stupid-grinned-gooey-eyed during live performances or jamming sessions, have been caught singing-on-top-of-my-voice-with-headphones-on in public places and just plain LOVE singing.

So, there it was! I put my earphones on and got lost in music.

All was well.

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Why this story today? Because I was feeling the same since the past few days until I remembered this gem. And now, the world is safe, until next time! 😉

©Ankita Kala 2016

2 thoughts on “Back To The Basics

Leave a Reply

