Open-Minded


 

She was sitting two rows behind me, I think.

I don’t remember where exactly.

I saw her for the first time as a reflection in the restroom mirror.

She was adjusting her hair.

Oh the unkempt excuse for hair she has, I thought. Hah! (Yeah, I’m quite the Rapunzel, you know!)

A mini-second of seeing this and, Damn! This one looks scary.

And, I don’t even know why people can’t look like they’re out of bed when they are!

 

Back in the classroom, I didn’t know or notice where she was.

Few hours later, I pulled open the same door which she had pushed on the other side.

“Sorry”, said a soft voice.

“Sorry”, said my not-so-soft one.

And we moved on.

Few days later, we were sitting on a bench outside the classroom talking about everything under the sun.

I had found a new best friend.

And a reiteration of the lesson I had asked myself to learn by heart – Looks ARE deceptive most of the times. Teach yourself not to be a judgmental ass!

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

In response to the Discover Challenge – Open-Minded

Image source : http://meridaxrapunzel.tumblr.com/

© Ankita Kala 2016

2 thoughts on “Open-Minded

Leave a Reply

