Untitled


As a little girl I liked writing a lot (Yes, I know so did you! That’s why we’re all here, right!). It won’t be wrong if I say it was my second love. Don’t ask what was the first! 😉

Whatever I experienced, I’d always make it a point to commit it to paper.

All that I dreamed of would become a fairy tale about some princess and later, when Harry Potter came into the picture, about a common girl discovering what a great witch/fairy/<insert any imaginary creature who’s the heroine of the story> she actually was! Sometimes i’d conjure up a story similar to Barbie movies, at other times it would be something similar to a Panchatantra lore.

All that I felt would become prose. In the starting years, rhyming schemes were strictly adhered to and special attention was paid to the ‘grow-throw cry-try’ routine. But a few heartbreaking events and one encounter with modern poetry later, rhymes ceased to matter. I could freely concentrate on words and emotions instead of racking my brains to find a rhyming word for orange that matched the mood of my poem.

But as I grew older, the writing turned to subjects like French Revolution, Atomic Mass, Marginal Utility, Capital Adequacy Ratio, Hedge Fund,………….. you get the picture?!

Which left me wondering where I had gone. Where was my dream world where everybody behaved the way I wanted them to?

No, i’m not a control freak. What i’m referring to is the refuge you escape to. The place where you go whenever you want to have a silent moment of reflection. The place that welcomes you with open arms when the real world disappoints you in some way.

Then I started a blog. The sole objective of which was to vent out whatever was ricocheting off the walls of my brains at that point.

Nobody I didn’t know knew about it. And considering the fact that I hadn’t told anybody about it, nobody I knew knew about it. No followers, no likers. I thought my content was worth that only. Me and my solo sojourn in the blogosphere.

Around this same time a friend of mine started a blog showcasing her work in the field of art (you can check out her work here) and we got to discussing blogging in general. I didn’t tell her about mine since it was pretty personal till that time. All that I wanted to rant about to anybody, I ranted to my blog.

When i visited her blog (on WordPress), I was amazed at how people from across the world had visited it! All I knew about blogging till then was that you write something and then people read it (I remember wondering to myself in childhood that I may somehow be related to Einstein because of my capabilities such as outlined in the previous sentence). But here was something absolutely different! I remember my friend telling me that the best thing about WordPress is it’s community.

After much deliberation I decided to switch my blog to WordPress after one year of blogging aimlessly. And man, am I delirious with happiness or what!? The community has overwhelmed me! I now open up my WP account the first thing on switching on my laptop in the morning. Much progress for a Facebook addict!

In the few days that I’ve been here I’ve read much more on world topics beyond the usual ones than I did in probably the whole of last year! Topics for which I always craved, no let’s make it CRAVED, and devoured the newspapers whenever they mentioned them. I’ve written so much in the past few days that I’m actually thinking of becoming a dedicated blogger. Now I have much more of what I consider an online presence than I ever thought possible there!

My heartiest thanks to all those who make it such a rocking place to be in! A place which makes me believe that there are people out there in the world who may take out their precious time to read what this soul somewhere is thinking. And for welcoming me with such open arms!

May we grow and learn together improving not just ourselves but the whole world with us!

P. S. – I don’t know what title would suit this post. Any suggestions?

© 2013 Ankita Kala

3 thoughts on “Untitled

Leave a Reply

